Recent Topics

Ads

[AM] Advice for Returning WAR Player

Swordmaster, Shadow Warrior, White Lion, Archmage
Forum rules
Before posting on this forum, be sure to read the Terms of Use
Your topic MUST start with your class name between hooks (IE : [Shaman] blablabla)
Kerathras

[AM] Advice for Returning WAR Player

Post#1 » Sun Jan 30, 2022 10:11 pm

Hello all. As the title says while I am new to RoR I used to play WAR extensively before the servers shut down and my main was a DPS AM. While I am very familiar with the class and I was fully decked out in Sovereign gear, etc. I am struggling to adapt to the changes in RoR. Specifically the class mechanic, High Magic, which was always very poorly implemented even in the original game actually seems to somehow be worse in this iteration because Tranquility and Force points can no longer be stacked and used up to supercharge a single ability but now each ability consumes only one stack. As an example, casting Searing Touch with 5 stacks of Tranquility, while never optimal play, at least rewarded the player for having spent all those GCDs on heals by making it tick very fast and thus off-setting the DPS loss. This seems to now be covered by the Asuryan tree tactic Khaine's Touch but the downsides of the tactic are extremely punishing not to mention that it uses up a tactic slot and takes a mastery point for something that used be a baseline function of the class mechanic. I am having a hard time figuring why these changes were made and most of the information on the forums is either outdated or otherwise very sparse but it glosses over a battle of wills between devs regarding the Vaul tree and cites that as the reason for the class mechanic change but apparently whatever was done to make the Vaul tree more viable has since been reverted while the class mechanic change was left in place much to the overall detriment of the entire class.