Recent Topics

Ads

Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Talk about the development of the emulator and related services.
Check out new and upcoming features to be implemented onto the server.

Moderators: Developer, Management, Web Developer

Forum rules
Before posting on this forum, be sure to read the Terms of Use
User avatar
MaxHayman
Management
Posts: 874
Contact:

Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#1 » Tue May 05, 2020 5:39 pm

Launcher Version 3.4.1.11 has just been pushed out to testers.

https://launcher.returnofreckoning.com/beta

Once signed up your launcher should ask to be updated! - Do it!

Changes include:
- Fixed errors with corrupt files when patching. (when you would have to resort to dowloading the myp fresh)
- Fixed exception when changing settings whilst game was running.
- x64 is now the default selection
- The settings has a "Repair" button which will allow a full file check of all files in MYPS and redownload broken or missing files.
- Improved the news: News will have styled text and urls and overall display more pleasantly.
- Fixed issue so you will no longer have to run Discord and other apps run as administrator to enable features such as push-to-talk

Image

If you have any issues please post here.
Max Hayman

Ads
zak68
Posts: 384

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#2 » Tue May 05, 2020 5:56 pm

no scroll bar in the news text box ; upper arrow appears under title text.

R3xz
Posts: 103

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#3 » Tue May 05, 2020 6:46 pm

^ that was the case too for the old launcher

Dinotron
Posts: 32

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#4 » Tue May 05, 2020 6:52 pm

- Fixed issue so you will no longer have to run Discord and other apps run as administrator to enable features such as push-to-talk
:D

User avatar
WARChosen
Posts: 56

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#5 » Tue May 05, 2020 10:31 pm

New Launcher Version 3.4.1.11 does not want to run WAR 64 only runs 32 versions . When I want to enable 64 versions the connect button remains gray and nothing happens even if i restart the client
Image

gglanouille
Posts: 32

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#6 » Wed May 06, 2020 4:28 pm

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=38088

i have this problem...

jackripper34
Posts: 4

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#7 » Wed May 06, 2020 4:33 pm

i start to download the new Launcher because the old one not working,but seems that it is download the game from the very start,i do anything wrong?

KhorneBerserker
Posts: 15

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#8 » Wed May 06, 2020 4:35 pm

Any way to disable this beta channel? It seems I was subscribed before but anyway I still have issue that nothing happens on pressing Connect button.

Ads
Tuxedomoon
Posts: 2

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#9 » Wed May 06, 2020 5:19 pm

Hello,

I can't start RoR under linux/wine anymore, neither 32 bit nor 64 bit.
When i click <Start> without login info i get at least the command to fill in username/pw from server (or launcher).
When i click <Start> with login info nothing happens except throwing always these 2 lines to the output of winedebug.

0009:fixme:crypt:SystemFunction041 (0x495f884, 30, 0): stub [RtlDecryptMemory]
0009:fixme:crypt:SystemFunction040 (0x495f884, 30, 0): stub [RtlEncryptMemory]

I don't know if this is the problem but it's the only constant in all the debug lines.
I couldn't manage to extended debug the starting process, because the launcher crashed.

Hopefully this can help a bit. It would be a pity if others and me could not use linux anymore to play RoR.

Cheers

Dynamene

Edit: Launcher log says this:
[20.05.06 17:23:49] I Patcher : Recieved manifest (21 entries)
[20.05.06 17:23:49] S Patcher : Download complete.
[20.05.06 17:23:49] E Start : Failed to get process ID

User avatar
Viperstongue
Posts: 13

Re: Launcher Beta Test 05/05/2020

Post#10 » Wed May 06, 2020 5:50 pm

The fix for windows users still requires the launcher to be run as administrator (unfortunately) as there is still the following line in the manifest :
<requestedExecutionLevel level="requireAdministrator" uiAccess="false" />

But once ran, if not mistaken before launching war.exe/war64.exe it eventually looks for the process ID of Discord, to launch the game with the same invoker/level of authorization, enabling push to talk things without having discord launched with admin rights.

As under linux/Wine this is probably handled differently, it fails to get the process ID, and stops.

I have the very same E Start : Failed to get process ID error while trying to run the launcher under windows with <requestedExecutionLevel level="asInvoker" uiAccess="false" /> (either with an external manifest, or with a commandline tweak)

Note : could "run launcher as Admin" or "looking for discord app" be part of the settings options, to enable full portable execution, and not enforced by default ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests